top of page

Mirna Zelaya

Registered Behavior Technician

Mirna Zelaya graduated from FIU with a Bachelors in both psychology and interdisciplinary studies. She has been a behavior therapist for close to four years and has a passion for working with children and helping others live a better quality life. Mirna is currently working on achieving her Masters in Clinical Mental Health Counseling at Keiser University. She hopes to continue to grow in not only the field of mental health but in the field of Applied Behavior Analysis as well.

Therapeutic Specialties

Verbal Behavior, Daily Living Skills, Decrease Aggressive behaviors, Decreaase Tantrums, School Support, Social Skills, Token Systems, Language Support, Improve Attention Concerns, Increase replacement behaviors, Self Care, Learning and Academic Skills

What is important to you, for your client to feel, when working with you?

It is important to me for my client and their guardians to feel that they are cared for and in competent hands. It is very important to me to build trust and a connection with my client where they feel safe with me and know they can count on me.

Who do you believe you are for a client as they manage their problems?

I feel that for a client, I can be someone they can trust but also a source of challenge for a client. While I want a good natured and warm relationship, I know that at times it is important to challenge a client to help them work on behaviors.

What drives your passion for seeing clients?

I have a passion for helping clients live the best quality life possible. I want their guardians or caregivers to know I will always give them 100% and be there for support.

How do you believe clients "get better"?

While I do not think clients “get better,” I believe we can work with them to help them develop new skills. We can help them gain skills to live better, more independent, and socially enriched lives while also helping them learn to self-regulate and communicate effectively.

ABA Department

Mirna Zelaya

Education

Florida International University- BA in Psychology and BA in Interdisciplinary Studies

Currently working on my MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Client Age Range

Children (2-6), Children (6-12), Teens (13-17)

Languages Spoken

English, Spanish

Personal Hobbies

When I am not working, I enjoy going to the gym, spending time with my husband and family, taking my dog to the dog park, watching television, and catching up with my friends.

“Every student can learn, just not on the same day or in the same day.” —George Evans

bottom of page